CJC Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Friday, Feb. 9, 2024

In Attendance: Cynthia Morton; Ben Johnson, Cynthia Barnett, Joanna Hernandez, Christine Bucan, Mickey Nall, Eric Esterline, Churchill Roberts; Angela Bradbery, Dean Hub Brown, David Cuillier, Julia Seay, AssociateDean Spiro Kiousis

- UF Senate Representative: Associate Dean Spiro Kiousis discussed beginning the need to begin to recruit for the next CJC representative on the UF Senate as Houston Wells' term is up.
- Elections Task Force: Senator Eric Esterline has stepped up to chair the Elections Task Force. Task force members include Cynthia Morton, Joanna Hernandez and Spiro Kiousis.
- Administration Assessments: Evaluations will proceed without input from staff as Staff Council has asked for any reference to staff be removed.
- New Faculty Unit: Nine new faculty members in the INC/DMP continue to meet. They are in the process of creating their bylaws that are expected to be adopted in spring. Cynthia Barnett is attending their next meeting.
- o Information Items were distributed and discussed for an all-faculty vote on March 1
 - o CJC Legends
 - CJC Community Statement

ACTION ITEMS

CJC Legends: Mickey Nall moved to accept and support the concept of adopting a faculty version of the hall of fame that represent retired faculty and those who have moved on. Eric Esterline seconded. Unanimous approval. Motion passes.

CJC Community Statement: Mickey Nall moved to support the Community+Culture Committee's mission statement for the college. Cynthia Barnett seconded. Seven (7) approve, one (1) abstention. Motion passes.