## CJC Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes for Friday, March 1, 2024

**In Attendance:** Natalie Asorey, James Babanikos, Cynthia Barnett, Angela Bradbery, Christine Bucan, Christen Buckley, Huan Chen, Ann Christiano, Chris Chu, Roxane Coche, Marcia DiStaso, Eric Esterline, Juliana Fernandes, Mike Foley, Pat Ford, Rebecca Frazer, Robyn Goodman, Joanna Hernandez, Jay Hmielowski, Harrison Hove, Myiah Hutchens, Benjamin Johnson, Robert Judin, Sri Kalyanaraman, Spiro Kiousis, Evan Kropp, Mark Leeps, Norman Lewis, Mindy McAdams, Seungahn Nah, Mickey Nall, Keisha Reynolds, Churchill Roberts, Andrew Selepack, Matt Sheehan, Tim Sorel, Ted Spiker, Bernell Tripp, Dan Windels, Kasey Windels

## All-faculty meeting opens this session.

- Action Items:
  - CJC Legends

Motion to endorse the CJC Legends proposal, which would create a means within the CJC to honor and remember faculty and staff who have retired, or left the College, who made significant contributions to the College, students or their field.

Motion by Mickey Nall, second by Christine Bucan

Motion passes

## • CJC Community Statement

Motion to approve the proposed CJC Community Statement. Motion by committee; second by Mindy McAdams

Motion passes

## Regularly held meeting of the CJC Faculty Senate commences.

- $\circ$  Minutes from Feb. 9 meeting approved
- Continued discussion on new faculty unit
  - Standing committees and seats
    - Faculty Senate (2 people; 3-year term)
    - Budget and Long-Range Planning (1 person)
    - Curriculum and Teaching (1 person, plus unit director)
    - Faculty Welfare and Development (1 person)
    - Graduate (1 person)
    - Community + Culture (1 person)
    - International (1 person)
    - Technology (1 person)
    - Salary Equity (chair of unit's committee, one-year term)
  - No representation on Tenure and Promotion or Sabbatical: nontenure track faculty not eligible, though Spiro to check whether ex oficio is possibility
- o Update on Administrative Assessments
  - Keisha Reynolds and Joanna Hernandez meeting with UFHR
- Update on Elections Task Force

 Eric Esterline, chair, held task force meeting; is working on the current slate and putting together documents; creating process